All Astrology Explained articles:

Your planets are where each planet was positioned when you were born. To understand what each means in your birth chart, think of the traits a sign has and then apply that to the context of that particular planet.



mercury, planet, and solar system image
Roman god of shopkeepers and merchants, travelers and transporters of goods, and thieves and tricksters (Greek equivalent: Hermes).

Mercury controls how you communicate with people and how you process information. Mercury is closest to the sun so your Mercury sign will never be more then one sign away. (Ex: Your Sun sign is Gemini so your Mercury has to be Taurus, Gemini, or Cancer).

  • Decision making
  • Rationality
  • Communication


exploration, planet, and solar system image
Roman goddess of love, sex, beauty, and fertility (Greek equivalent: Aphrodite).

Venus controls relationships and love. It also rules over sentimentality and things you value. Your Venus sign not only determines your romantic and sexual relationships but also your familial relationships. This can extend as far as nostalgia.

  • Relationships and love
  • Passion
  • Finances


exploration, planet, and solar system image
Roman god of primal anger and war (Greek equivalent: Ares).

Mars controls anger and animistic instincts. Your temper and how you handle your anger. It also controls sexual desire and energy. Mars is a very action-orientated planet.

  • Anger and strong emotions
  • Action
  • Primal instincts and sexual desires


exploration, jupiter, and planet image
Roman god of the heavens, light and sky, and protector of the state and its laws (Greek equivalent: Zeus).

Jupiter controls attributes such as patience, kindness, and generosity. Embracing Jupiter's teachings will improve your luck and happiness, Jupiter is all about trust and putting your faith in others and the universe.

  • Generosity
  • Tolerance
  • Wisdom


planet, saturn, and solar system image
Roman god of agriculture, liberation, and time (Greek equivalent: Cronus).

Saturn controls responsibility. Saturn is the planet of reality and reason. This includes boundaries, commitments, restriction and limitation. How someone mages their responsibility and commitments.

  • Fears
  • Limitations
  • Responsibility


outer space, planet, and solar system image
Greek primordial god of the sky (Father Sky) (Roman equivalent: Caelus_).

Uranus controls originality and individuality. It also rules innovation and progress. Enlightenment, progressiveness, objectivity, novelty, and ingenuity. Uranus determines how essetric and erratic someone is. If they stick to routines and structure or not.

  • Individuality
  • Progressiveness and forward-thinking
  • Fresh starts


neptune, planet, and solar system image
Roman god of the sea and earthquakes (Greek equivalent: Poseidon).

Neptune controls spirituality. This covers inspiration, dreams, psychic receptivity, illusion, and confusion. Neptune is associated with water, intuition, and compassion.

  • Subconscious mind
  • Dreams
  • Intuition and psychic sensitivity


planet, pluto, and solar system image
Roman god of the Underworld and judge of the dead (Greek equivalent: Hades).

Pluto controls the subconscious, everything beyond the surface. Pluto is all about change, willing or forced. Transformation, progress, and renewal. Your Pluto sign is how you react to change. Because Pluto has such a slow orbit, everyone in a certain generation will have the same Pluto sign.

  • Rebirth
  • New beginnings
  • Growth

Hope you enjoyed. If you want to see more, you can check out my other articles and my Astrology collection here:

And you can find me here:

Aesthetics for Mythology, Astrology, Film, TV Series, & Literature:

“Astrology is like a weather report; it tells you what conditions you’re likely to face in the future. If the weatherman says it’s probably going to rain, you bring an umbrella. If you follow that advice, you won’t get wet." - Lee Goldberg