Riverdale (2016 – present)

Image removed

IMDb rating: 7.7/10
Genre: Comedy/Drama/Mystery
Based on: Characters by Archie Comics
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 25

Synopsis:

After the death of one of the rich and popular Blossom twins on the 4th of July, the small town of Riverdale investigates the murder. The series starts in September, the beginning of a new school year, that brings with it new students, relationships, and reveals the mysteries of the past 4th of July.

I liked the first season it was fun and all that. But I'm having a little trouble with the second one. But hey, I get to see Cole who's been my crush since forever!

Trailer:

Scream (2015 – present)

poster, scream, and 2 season image

IMDb rating: 7.3/10
Genre: Crime/Drama/Horror
Based on: Scream by Kevin Williamson and Wes Craven
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 24

Synopsis:

After a cyber-bullying incident serves as the catalyst for a brutal murder, a group of teenagers become the prime targets of a serial killer, as dark secrets from Lakewood's troubled past resurface and conjure memories of a similar murder that occurred 20 years earlier in the community. Emma Duval, a teenage girl who is somehow linked to the town's past, is the killer's main obsession and the center of these grisly murders. With both her family and friends in apparent danger, she sets out to uncover the town's dark mysteries and unmask the killer once and for all. This proves difficult, however, especially when everyone is a suspect and anyone could be a victim.

I've always been a fan of horror so this one is obviously on my list. The show isn't bad, but is also not that good. I guess I enjoy it just enough to keep watching.
I'm curious to see what they're doing for season 3, I heard they're changing the cast and other stuff too. We’ll have to wait until to see.

Trailer:

Switched at Birth (2011 – 2017)

freeform, poster, and tv image

IMDb rating: 7.8/10
Genre: Family/Drama/Romance
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 5
No. of episodes: 103

Synopsis:

Tells the story of two teen girls who discover that they were accidentally switched at birth. Bay Kennish grew up in a wealthy family with two parents and a brother, while Daphne Vasquez, who lost her hearing as a child due to a case of meningitis, grew up with a single mother in a poor neighborhood. Things come to a dramatic head when both families meet and struggle to learn how to live together for the sake of the girls.

I loved switched at birth until the last episode. I lost count of the times I cried watching the show, the times I suffered with the characters and the times I laughed. Although the last season was all over the place, i liked it.

Trailer:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEQpzcRxK28

The Royals (2015 - present)

drama, poster, and show image

IMDb rating: 7.5/10
Genre: Drama
Based on: Falling for Hamlet by Michelle Ray
No. of seasons: 4
No. of episodes: 31

Synopsis:

Drama about a fictional British Royal family set in modern day London, who inhabit a world of opulence and regal tradition that caters to any and every desire, but one that also comes with a price tag of duty, destiny and intense public scrutiny.

Drama, drama and more drama! Watching the royals is like watching a reality show about the royal family of the modern days. The show is far from perfect but is a funny one.

Trailer:

Lovesick (2014 – present)

lovesick, tv show, and poster image

IMDb rating: 8.1/10
Genre: Sitcom
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 3
No. of episodes: 22

Synopsis:

After finding out he has an STD, Dylan must get back in touch with every girl he has ever had sex with to let them know the bad news.

When I saw Johnny Flynn's name in the cast I immediately clicked play. I don't know why but I just love his voice so much and I think is quite cute. I admit that when I started the show I was only looking for something to help me sleep but eventually I fell in love with the show, as always.

Trailer:

Scream Queens (2015 – 2016)

emma roberts, tv show, and poster image

IMDb rating: 7.1/10
Genre: Black Comedy/Horror/Mystery
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 23

Synopsis:

Wallace University is rocked by a string of murders. Kappa House, the most sought-after sorority for pledges, is ruled with an iron fist (in a pink glove) by its Queen Bitch, Chanel Oberlin. But when anti-Kappa Dean Cathy Munsch decrees that sorority pledging must be open to all students, and not just the school's silver-spooned elite, all hell is about to break loose, as a devil-clad killer begins wreaking havoc, claiming one victim, one episode at a time. Part black comedy, part slasher flick, SCREAM QUEENS is a modern take on the classic whodunit, in which every character has a motive for murder... Or could easily be the next blood-soaked casualty.

I decided to give it a try because why not? Ended up hating every part of it.

Trailer:

Search Party (2016 – present)

comedy, tv show, and poster image

IMDb rating: 7.5/10
Genre: Comedy/Drama/Mystery
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 20

Synopsis:

Search Party is a single-camera dark comedy about four self-absorbed twenty-somethings who become entangled in an ominous mystery when a former college acquaintance suddenly disappears.

This is another one that I started watching because I wanted something to help me fall asleep. I did not sleep until season 1 was finished. Yes, I watched it all in one night because I needed answers, sleep was not a priority at that time.

Trailer:

Selfie (2014)

tv show, abc family, and freeform image

IMDb rating: 7.2/10
Genre: Sitcom
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 1
No. of episodes: 13

Synopsis:

The series follows the life of Eliza Dooley, a woman obsessed with the idea of achieving fame through the use of social media platforms, including Instagram, where she regularly posts selfies. She begins to worry that "friending" people online is not a substitute for real friendship, and she seeks help from Henry Higgs, a marketing image guru.

I like it, but it ended up being cancelled. There's so many people in this world that are like Eliza.

Trailer:

Shadowhunters (2016 – present)

freeform, poster, and netflix image

IMDb rating: 6.5/10
Genre: Action/Drama/Fantasy/Romance
Based on: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 33

Synopsis:

Clary Fray is a normal teenager living in Brooklyn with her mother. One day, she discovers that she is descended from a line of Shadowhunters; humans born with angelic blood that fight to protect our world from demons. After her mother is kidnapped, Clary must team up with three Shadowhunters: Jace, Alec and Isabelle and her best friend Simon on a quest to find her mother and recover her past.

The reason why I started Shadowhunters was because I wanted answers. I watched the movie when it came out and I loved it and wanted more, so when I heard about the show I was excited because it would give me the answers I wanted and needed. But season one was boring to watch, because I already knew what was going to happen. It was like the movie but with a few more details.
The thing is I don't really like the actors, I like a few of them, but not all. And that's makes it really hard for me.

Trailer:

Shameless US (2011 – present)

poster, show, and Showtime image

IMDb rating: 8.7/10
Genre: Drama/Comedy
Based on: Shameless by Paul Abbott
No. of seasons: 8
No. of episodes: 98

Synopsis:

The series depicts the dysfunctional family of Frank Gallagher, a single father of six children. While he spends his days drunk or in search of misadventures, his kids learn to take care of themselves.

I love it! Fell in love in the first episode! I started by watching the British version which is the original one, but I stopped when I discovered the American one. Shameless US is one of my favorite tv shows of all time. It's in my top 10.

Trailer:

Skins UK (2007 – 2013)

Image removed

IMDb rating: 8.2/10
Genre: Drama
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 7
No. of episodes: 61

Synopsis:

The story of a group of British teens who are trying to grow up and find love and happiness despite questionable parenting and teachers who more want to be friends (and lovers) rather than authority figures.

Another one in my top 10. Skins are part of my teenage years so at the time it was relatable. Maybe they're lives were a little bit wilder than mine. I was never into heavy drugs like they were, but I remember spending a lot of time drinking in the daylight and smoking with my friends. It was a way to escape the high school drama, the bullying, my parents fights. I remember just wanting to escape life in general.
They also talk about serious questions especially in the first generation, which is my favorite of all. Cassie's story always leaves me in tears and Nick's too.

Trailer:

The Secret Circle (2011 – 2012)

poster, tv, and the secret circle image

IMDb rating: 7.4/10
Genre: Drama/Fantasy/Horror
Based on: The Secret Circle by L.J Smith
No. of seasons: 1
No. of episodes: 22

Synopsis:

16-year-old Cassie Blake moves to Chance Harbor, Washington to live with her grandmother after her mother mysteriously dies. She discovers she's a witch along with 5 other teens.

I got pissed when I found out it was getting cancelled, but now I don't really see why. It was just another dumb teen show. I guess it was because I was boring on my summer holiday in the countryside and this show was the only good thing to watch on the tv when it was too hot to go outside.

Trailer:

The Shannara Chronicles (2016 – 2017)

spike, tv show, and the shannara chronicles image

IMDb rating: 7.4/10
Genre: Adventure/Fantasy/Sci-Fi
Based on: The Sword of Shannara Trilogy by Terry Brooks
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 20

Synopsis:

An Elvish tree, known as the Ellcrys, is dying. The bad news is that the tree has been the only piece of magic that protects the Four Lands from the Demon World. Amberle Elessedil is the only one who can save the tree. But she has to unlock magic that the Elves haven't used in thousands of years. With the help of Wil Ohmsford, she travels to find the lost magic. But it won't be an easy task.

I remember being excited for season one, and besides being disappointed in some aspects of the show I liked it. I was not expecting much because it was an MTV show. For season two I was expecting more because I already knew that the previous season was good, but in the end, I felt disappointed. And it got cancelled.

Trailer:

Snatch (2017 – present)

british, tv show, and uk image

IMDb rating: 6.9/10
Genre: Comedy/Drama/Crime
Based on: Snatch by Guy Richie
No. of seasons: 1
No. of episodes: 10

Synopsis:

Snatch follows a group of young scammers who find themselves with a truck loaded with stolen gold bullion and are soon involved in the world of organized crime.

All I have to say is that I can't wait for season two!

Trailer:

Speechless (2016 – present)

comedy, tv show, and abc family image

IMDb rating: 7.7/10
Genre: Sitcom
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 38

Synopsis:

The family of a special-needs teen is good at dealing with the challenges he faces - and excellent at creating new ones.

It's funny, not perfect, but very funny. I love Maya.

Trailer:

Stranger Things (2016 – present)

stranger things, eleven, and netflix image

IMDb rating: 8.9/10
Genre: Drama/Fantasy/Horror
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 2
No. of episodes: 17

Synopsis:

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, a peculiar incident starts a chain of events that leads to the disappearance of a child - which begins to tear at the fabric of an otherwise peaceful community. Dark government agencies and seemingly malevolent supernatural forces converge on the town while a few locals begin to understand that there's more going on than meets the eye.

Three months after season one came out I started to watch it and I remember saying to my friend that I was not convinced by the show after seeing the first episode, but that I would give it a try anyway. I was the best thing I ever did, because I became obsessed with it. I'm counting the days until season three.

Trailer:

Suburgatory (2011 – 2014)

comedy, tv show, and abc family image

IMDb rating:7.2 /10
Genre: Comedy
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 3
No. of episodes: 57

Synopsis:

Tessa Altman is used to the big city but when her dad moves her away, she has to adapt to her new suburban life in Chatswin.

Oh man, this one brings me good memories. It was the one of the first comedy shows that I actually enjoyed watching each episode. But as always happens it got cancelled.

Trailer:

Supergirl (2015 – present)

beautiful, poster, and cw image

IMDb rating: 6.5/10
Genre: Drama/Action/Adventure
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 3
No. of episodes: 55

Synopsis:

The adventures of Superman's cousin in her own superhero career.

I tried but I gave up after four episodes. It's stupid. Sorry.

Trailer:

Superstore (2015 – present)

NBC, tv show, and superstore image

IMDb rating: 7.7/10
Genre: Comedy
Based on: ----
No. of seasons: 3
No. of episodes: 47

Synopsis:

A look at the lives of employees at a big box store.

I don't know why I like it so much, but I do.

Trailer:

Teen Wolf (2011 – 2017)

tv show, dylan o'brain, and mtv image

IMDb rating: 7.7/10
Genre: Drama/Comedy/Supernatural
Based on: Teen Wolf by Jeph Leob and Matthew Weismen
No. of seasons: 6
No. of episodes: 100

Synopsis:

A somewhat awkward teen is attacked by a werewolf and inherits the curse himself, as well as the enemies that come with it.

I was not convinced until season three. I remember asking myself why I was watching a show that involved werewolves when I hated Twilight so much. I guess the reason was Dylan O'brien, at the beginning. But I started enjoying the show because it was not just a stupid love story. After three seasons I was too involved on the story to give up.

Trailer: